Posted in Uncategorized

Taper Week for the Toro Park 30K and a Bulu Box Review!

Good morning! It’s race week around thepinkhatrunner’s house, which means I’m gearing up for the Toro Park 30K on Saturday! I thought there isn’t a better way to start the week, but with my review of the Bulu Box that I was sent! (I wasn’t compensated for my review, outside of receiving the box for free. All of the opinions are mine!) 

Bulu Box is the first health, nutrition and weight loss discovery box designed to help you feel your best. Each month, you’ll get a custom box filled with a new mix of 4 to 5 premium samples from top brands to try. Every sample is sufficient enough to decide if the product is right for you and they offer free shipping! They have products that range from accessories to healthy snacks, to nutrition and energy, with many in between. You are bound to find something that you like from them, plus if there is a sample that tickles your fancy chances are they also have the full size version to purchase as well.

Blog1
Bulu Box!
blog2
So many goodies in a small package!

My box contained two packets of Quest peanut butter protein powder, a packet of Movit energy gummies, a Medittera bar, a packet of Yerba Prima Fiber and a jar of Earth’s Care Anti Itch Cream.

Let’s start with the protein powder, because when I saw it in the box, I may have squealed with excitement. I’ve been wanting to try Quest protein and to see it in the best flavor ever imagined, peanut butter, I was a happy girl! I decided to try the protein before heading out for my 4 mile trail run on Sunday. It’s always good to have something in my tummy, but not so much that it doesn’t digest well, this was just what I needed. I wanted to be able to get a true taste of the powder, so I mixed it with water in my shaker cup. The taste was smooth, not too thick but not so thin that you felt like you were drinking water and it offers a lot of bang for a scoop! The packet was a serving and has 23 grams of protein, 1 gram of fat, 2 grams of carbs and less than a gram of sugar. It is a milk derived protein, just in case anyone has issues with dairy or is trying to stay away from it. I really enjoyed this, it tasted like I was drinking a peanut butter cookie, seriously, it was that good!

blog6
Peanut butter cookie in a glass

Next up was the Mediterra bar, which surprisingly I liked a lot! Mine was the sun dried tomato and basil flavor, it reminded me of a savory rice krispie treat! The texture was good, flavor was rich, I could taste the different ingredients like the tomato, olive, etc. It was a good snack and it didn’t leave me wishing that there was more, it was the perfect size! The bar had 160 calories, 18 grams of carbs, 6 grams of fat and 6 grams of protein. It’s definitely something I would have after a long run or workout.

Sundried Tomato and Basil Mediterra Bar
Sundried Tomato and Basil Mediterra Bar

I took the Movit energy chews with me on Saturday for my 10 mile long run, I knew I would need something in between runs (I split it up because I was joining The Treadmill’s group run for 6 of the miles). After my four miles with Sarah and Sharon, I opened the pouch to see what these guys were all about. The flavor was mild and not artificial tasting, which was nice and they are full of B vitamins, folic acid and caffeine. I was surprised that they didn’t have any potassium in them and the sodium was a little low. I’m used to using chews that offer a bit more when I go for a long run, because I’m always afraid of dehydration and losing electrolytes. These would be perfect for a shorter run or even post run pick me up!

Movit Energy Chews
Movit Energy Chews

I was a little skeptical of trying the fiber supplemental, not because I’m afraid of the effects, but I have tummy issues and I didn’t feel confident that I could provide a good review of this sample. My digestive track pretty much works backwards from everyone else’s! Yerba’s sugar free daily fiber formula is a concentrated fiber blend of Psyllium seed husks, Acacia gum, Gluten Free oats, Soy Fiber and Apple Fiber. I mixed and drank it last night and even though it appeared like it would be gritty – you could see all of the fibers and it didn’t disolve, it was good. The flavor is sugar free and orange, but to me it was more of a tropical taste and when I drank it, it was smooth. I think if I were to drink it on a regular basis, I would be able to get the full effect of it!

Yerba Prima Fiber supplement
Yerba Prima Fiber supplement

The last product was of an anti itch and pain cream, I don’t have any itches or pain right now, but I still took a look at it. The jar says that it would be great for poison ivy and oak, which means I’m keeping this guy front and center in the bathroom. Trail running usually leads to exposure and I want to try this if and when the need arises. I spread a little on my  hand to get an idea of the consistency and it was really nice. Non greasy, absorbed right away with a menthol feel/smell.

Earth's Care anti-itch cream
Earth’s Care anti-itch cream

I really enjoyed being able to review the Bulu Box, thank you so much for the opportunity. It was fun to try products I’ve wanted to and were new to me. This would be such a fun surprise each month to see what comes in the mail! If you’re interested in trying a three month subscription, use the code SWEATPINK and get 50% off!! That’s a great deal!

This morning I had my o’dark30 3 mile run with Sarah and Sharon, then hit the pool for 45 minutes of pool running with Briana. How did you start your day? What’s on your agenda for the week?

O'dark30, 3 miles done!
O’dark30, 3 miles done!
Do you pool run?
Do you pool run?

Do you subscribe to any monthly box deliveries? Which ones do you like and why?

2 thoughts on “Taper Week for the Toro Park 30K and a Bulu Box Review!

Leave a Reply

