Posted in Uncategorized

Recharging my batteries

Hello!!! How is everyone’s week so far? I spent a long weekend in Lawrence, Kansas, with family celebrating my brother’s wedding and catching up with relatives. It really was wonderful to step back from the hustle and bustle of life and enjoy family time. Last week was a break from training, I was given strict orders to do whatever made my pink hat happy…run if I want, cross train, sleep in, etc. The only restriction was not to over do it, Coach knows me so well!

Reading  used to be something I enjoyed all of the time, but it seems to have taken a back seat in the last few years. While waiting for my plane, I browsed through the airport store and found  “You are a Badass” by Jen Sincero. I think we can always use a tune up, reminder, and tools to keep living to our fullest. This is a good mix of humor, advice and suggestions on how to achieve what we’re truly looking for. I haven’t finished it quite yet, but I’ll let you know when I do!

You are a Badass
You are a Badass, with a side of Diet Coke and Rum

How do you stay healthy while traveling? There are so many treats and junk options in airports, I was thrilled to find Jamba Juice! I had packed some cereal in case all I could find was a yogurt, but was happy to pick up steel cut oats with banana and a double shot of wheat grass juice to hold me over during the flights.

11

The weekend was so much fun! It was non stop and I loved every moment of it. Friday night I met my new niece and nephew, my brother is now a blended family and they are full of love!

7
The gang, minus Logan…he was too cool for a photo with Aunt Michele and the girls

I started Saturday with a 3.5 mile with my cousin Fran, she is a hockey player, cross fitter, awesome mom and attorney…whewwww that’s a lot and she does it all so well! We ran around the Kansas University campus, (who knew it was so hilly!) while we caught up and got our sweat on, it’s all about the family bonding that counts. After our run, we headed over to Alchemy for coffee, Fran and her daughter had been there the day before and raved about it. Hello, they had dark chocolate almond milk lattes!!!! Talk about a delicious indulgent treat! I really wanted to go back a couple of times before I left, but restrained myself. Too much of a good thing is……really good, right?!

Fran and I owned the hills of KU!
Fran and I owned the hills of KU!
Dark almond milk latte? Why yes, I think I will!
Dark almond milk latte? Why yes, I think I will!

We had lots of party prep and more family coming in to town that afternoon. We had loved ones from Texas and Baltimore travel to see us, how cool is that? Very! Then we shook our tail feathers late into the evening as we enjoyed BBQ, S’mores and lots of trips down memory lane. It’s times like these that I cherish and don’t mind spending a day in a plane to get to.

Aunt Ilene and Uncle Elliot came in from the East Coast to help us celebrate (L to R: Aunt Ileen, my brother Seth, Uncle Elliot and my pink hat)
Aunt Ilene and Uncle Elliot came in from the East Coast to help us celebrate (L to R: Aunt Ileen, my brother Seth, Uncle Elliot and my pink hat)

Monday morning I headed to the gym for a 5:30 am (you know that’s 3:30 am California time, dontcha???) spin class and weight lifting session. I knew that getting on a plane and then a shuttle, my body was going to need to move and sweat out some of the apple pie, ice cream and everything else I had over the weekend. Class was good, not quite what I am used to, it was a different format, but it without a doubt had my heart rate up!

These girls run on Dunkin!
A quick stop at Dunkin Donuts after the gym for a little breakfast surprise for Hannah and Abriana. These girls run on Dunkin! Yes, I spoil them, why shouldn’t I? 😉

On my way home Monday, I checked in with Michelle to see what the plan for this week was going to be and update on her on what last week was like. She said it was another do what I want kind of week and next week I’ll get a training plan again. I have a couple of runs planned for this week, spin classes, TRX and hopefully the pool. It’s a nice break from focusing on paces, mileage, etc and will get me ready to be back in the training game!

Ohhhhh, this weekend, the girls and I are headed up to San Francisco for two new to us classes!! We’re tackling Barry’s Bootcamp Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning are taking on Flywheel, have you tried either of them? Tell me what you think if you have!

That was my week in the nutshell. It was full of fun, family and awesome memories. I’m happy to be home and back to my routine, but I miss my family!

4 thoughts on “Recharging my batteries

  1. Looks like you had such a great time! Jealous of that dark chocolate almond milk latte 🙂 Coffee drinks are my MAJOR weakness! I would have gone back multiple times FOR SURE.

    Like

Leave a Reply

