Posted in Uncategorized

Training on the Road, aka Eating all the treats.

Good morning! My intention was to write this yesterday, but it was my first day back at work and I was a bit swamped. Last week, I headed out with my special guy for a road trip. He is leaving the area for a new duty station and I was asked to copilot the adventure. Of course I wanted to! Heck ya! If I can see the World’s largest ball of yarn, hole in the ground or weirdness, I’m in! Warning: Lots of pictures to follow!

We took off on Monday morning and headed east.

car
And we’re off!

 

Our first stop was the Grand Canyon. This was going to be my first time there and I was super excited to be able to run there. That plan did not  happen, it was covered in snow and fog! Before we set out for the national park, I logged my miles on the treadmill in the hotel.

tread
Hotel treadmill workout
GC
The Grand Canyon is there somewhere, I promise.

After seeing the snowy Grand Canyon, we spent 17 hours, yes you read that right 17 hours in the car until we got to Oklahoma City. It was the longest day we had and it was well worth it. This way we were closer to Missouri for the final day of travel. Along the way we stopped  in Albuquerque, we visited The Grove Cafe and Market for a late lunch. It was a gem in the middle of New Mexico. They had a kale and shaved Brussels Sprout salad that was incredible.

salad
Shaved Brussels Sprout salad topped with a hard boiled egg

We got to Oklahoma City super late and I opted to sleep in and not rush the next day. We had been on the go and making great time, so why not get an extra 2 hours of sleep? It was a great idea, we both felt refreshed and ready to get the rest of the trip done. On the way out of town,  we found a terrific brunch spot, thanks to  Yelp. If you’re in the area, I highly urge you to visit Kitchen No. 324. The food, service and atmosphere were all amazing! I ordered the steel cut oats, with raisins. Mr. Special had the fried green tomato Benedict and he spied the bakery case on the way in. They had cronuts, have you heard of these?? They are a cross between a doughnut and a croissant, pretty much little bundles of yumminess, here is more information on these guys.

Onward to Missouri after our carb-a-thon!

We got to Missouri and it was pretty cold, I can’t lie. Now, I grew up on the East Coast and Midwest (GO TIGERS!!!!) but it’s always shocking when it’s so cold.

cold

My training was more on the treadmill this week, then anything, except…spoiler alert  for my long run. Keep reading to find out about that.

After house hunting for him and getting settled in, we headed up to Rolla to look for a healthy food store and we kinda found pie. Now don’t think this was just a eat all the food trip! I had a rule, one bad thing a day, aka, my #onebaddecisionaday moment. We found A Slice of Pie, it’s tucked away and what a gold mine! We both had the spinach quiche for lunch, it was served with a roll and then pie for dessert. Everything was homemade with love and you could taste it in every bite.

pie
Apple crumb pie. Yes, it was that big.

Can you tell I was wearing yoga pants pretty much the entire trip?! As we drove, I was reading “It Starts with Food” , I mentioned it in my last blog post. There is a ton of great information and I knew when I got home, that I was going to start eliminating things from my diet, as the book describes. Stephano is always so supportive about my crazy ideas and he is doing this with me. Now, he really doesn’t need to, but he has my back no matter what. He’s really amazing and I am so lucky!

We headed into Kansas City on Friday to do a little shopping! I got a new Lululemon Run and Done Ear Warmer for the pending long run on  Saturday and he got spiffy new Altras and a lined half zip.

Friday evening was spent with my brother, sister-in-law, nieces and nephew. Family time is always so important, those are the memories you can’t replace. We were so busy having fun, laughing and enjoying the evening, I didn’t take a single picture!

Saturday…..the long run day. We woke up at 5:45 and prepared for the 8 miles ahead of us. It was 21 degrees without the windchill, icy patches, wind and rolling hills.  It was supposed to be a slow and easy run, which is exactly what it turned out to be. I didn’t care about my pace, just staying upright and getting through the wind. In the back of my mind, I kept reminding myself this was Big Sur Marathon training – it’s hilly and usually windy!  Since I’m training for 26.2, but Stephano isn’t, he still drug himself out there to run with me. Really, he didn’t have to, but he didn’t want me to be alone and I felt very lucky to have him to keep an eye on me. He was the ice police and I only slipped once! Plus, only one, “I hate this!!” was uttered as the wind crushed me.

long run
My legs were frozen, but my ears were warm!

After we defrosted for a bit, we headed back to my brother’s with a stop at Alchemy for a dark chocolate almond milk latte. I had one when I was visiting in September and knew it was going to be my treat for finishing this run. Yes, it’s not good to reward ourselves with food/drink. BUT this was well worth it after 8 freezing miles!

alchemy
Dark chocolate milk lattes are worth every mile!

Sunday, I headed home and it was bittersweet. On one hand, it was nice to not be in single digit weather (it was 0 degrees on the way to the airport), on the other it’s never easy leaving the ones we love. Lots of visits, skype and texts are in the future!

I’m proud that I still got in my runs, two strength workouts, indulged in treats and had fun along the way!

How was your week last week? Anything new and exciting in your neck of the woods?

Did you know you can connect with me, besides my blog? Check me out on these social media sites!

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

XO,

thepinkhatrunner

 

 

2 thoughts on “Training on the Road, aka Eating all the treats.

Leave a Reply

