Posted in cross training, fitfluential, pinkhat blog, running, SISU Girls Ambassador, sweatpink, sweatpink ambassador, training, Uncategorized

Focus on the Good

Truth be told, I haven’t felt much like blogging, chatting, etc. lately because life has had a lot of ups and downs. Lo and behold here I am, ready to get back to it!

You’ve probably been wondering about this pesky calf. I now have a diagnosis since my last post (February is Outta here!) about training. It’s not a fracture, blood clot or strain, I have compartment syndrome. Yup, that’s a new one for me to. Evidently it’s not all that uncommon for runners and it’s nothing that was training related which coach assured me of that and it was good to hear. My doctor thinks the onset was when I was hiking back in December and twisted my foot. If you’re curious about this ailment, you can read more here.  Dr. Barkalow, is amazing and keeps me going. He has me in for physical therapy twice a week, sporting my compression socks and cross training to keep up my endurance.

syndrome
I’m looking at YOU, compartment syndrome. Yes, YOU!

This translates to no running for at least six weeks, if you’re doing the math, you are correct, that rules out Big Sur Marathon. Which in all honesty, I had a feeling that was going to be the result and I am fine with it. It just means that I get to cheer and see my fabulous friends cross the finish line! My training up until February was going well and I have no doubt I will run strong again.

The one draw back of this injury and taking me off the road is that the timing wasn’t optimal personally. I’ve been going through a rough patch and running/working out is my go to stress relief. My personal life has had a change and I’m taking a good look at where I thought life was taking me versus where it actually will. Instead of logging miles and reflecting, I’m grinding it out on a spin bike, in the pool, Pilates, modifying barre and kettle bell classes. Pretty much anything that I can do, that will help me take care of myself and not get into a dark place emotionally. In the last week, I’ve  been trying to shift my thoughts to what I want to accomplish, what I want in a relationship and setting new goals. Goals are essential and I’m going to focus on the good in my life, rather than the what could have been. Sounds like a good idea, doesn’t it? Plus, I’m crewing at American River 50 in a couple of weeks, have trips planned and lots of visits with friends to look forward to!

spin
Spinning like it’s my full time j-o-b
pool
First one in the pool at 5:30 am

Set backs are really come backs and I know this summer once I’m back on the road, my pink hat will be going strong! If you know me I always find a plan B, C, D….whatever it takes to get it done.

Who is running a fall marathon? Any good ones that I need to check out? How do you rally yourself to get back up and running full steam ahead when life gets you down?

XO,

thepinkhatrunner

3 thoughts on “Focus on the Good

  1. I know exactly how you feel! Being injured is no fun and it’s so hard to learn how to get through it without having it as a stress reliever. I’m sending you lots of positive vibes that you’ll recover soon!

    Like

  2. Being injured is the WORST, especially when you had a race on the schedule that you were really looking forward to! This happened to me twice in a row – two years in a row. 😦 That’s just one of the tradeoffs of being a runner even though it seems so unfair at the time! Hang in there, and just know that you’ll heal and there will be other races in your future for sure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

