Posted in Uncategorized

Tis’ the Season of SAD

It’s October, which means the weather is cooling down, there is a crispness in the air and SAD ramps up a bit for me. Every Fall, armed with a latte, I prepare myself for the couple of months ahead.  Do you know what SAD is?

Pshycom.net tells us: “Seasonal affective disorder (SAD) is a category of depression that emerges in particular seasons of the year. Most people notice SAD symptoms starting in the fall and increasing during the winter months, but a few people experience a spring/summer version.”

There are a few causes for this, reduced sunlight being a major one. It can throw our internal clocks off, resulting in a reduction of serotonin and melatonin.

I can tell that it’s coming, like clock work every year. My attitude shifts, my Vitamin D consumption goes up and I tend to challenge my therapist a bit more on tough topics. We’ve been working together for a few years and I think maybe two Fall’s ago, it was really bad. We butted heads on everything possible. I pretty much couldn’t be around myself. But then, Spring comes on the horizon and things perk up again.

lgk9jqomlurtq

Do you have issues with SAD? What works for you?

 

XO,

thepinkhatrunner

2 thoughts on “Tis’ the Season of SAD

  1. Such an important topic! I noticed that it affected me a lot when we lived in upstate NY in a dreary town… now that I get more sunshine, I don’t deal with it but I am careful to supplement with Vitamin D all winter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

