Posted in Uncategorized

Happy Holidays!!

How was everyone’s Christmas and first day of Chanukkah? I hope you all had a fabulous holiday. Holidays can be difficult and I understand that, it’s not easy when you’re alone or far from family, hopefully everyone was included in festivities and felt the warmth of an outreached hand to be a part of the day.

My holidays started off well and I was able to spend it with loved ones. Growing up in a Jewish/Catholic home (Mom was Catholic and Dad Jewish), I love celebrating and enjoying it all! This year, I even gave myself a gift, something I don’t typically do. This was a very difficult year for me, I tried to keep my chin up as much as possible and to be honest, I feel like I deserved to do something nice for myself. When I was visiting Briana, I was able to meet one of her spin teachers, who hosts a macros group online periodically and I signed up for the group that begins on January 9th. I mentioned in a previous post that I’ve been adhering to IIFYM and love it. At the same time, I know I could use some extra help to fine tune what I’m doing and really excel. Mary will start a two week group, with the option to add on another 4 weeks, which I did. This time around, she is also providing strength work in her group, which I am so excited about. Don’t get me wrong, I love my barre and kettle bell classes, but know it’s time to take it up a notch. Mary is very knowledgable and knows her stuff, she is going to be a great key to my success.

Along with my best friend Ginger and her parents, I  volunteered at the Community Dinner for Monterey, passing out pastries, coffee and hot chocolate. It was wonderful giving back and talking to everyone, I never get tired of connecting with people. Learning about them, their stories and how they came to be where they are is always an experience. Today, being Christmas is special for another reason, Ginger and I met 16 years ago and quickly became best friends. Her Aunt invited me to their Christmas dinner so that I wouldn’t be left out and it has been non stop since. Knowing someone cared enough to include me was a simple gesture that has provided me with an extended family and has been priceless.

bff
Ginger and I volunteering on Christmas Day

After volunteering, I relaxed and met up with everyone for Christmas dinner. It was such a nice day and I gave myself a day off from the gym. That is so important for many reasons, my body and mind get to rest, I recharge and relax as well.

The past week has been on track with workouts and nutrition. I’m feeling really strong!

I was able to get in o’dark 30 runs, strength work and time in the pool. I missed the pool, it felt so good to be back in the water!

One of the highlights of the week, was that my Eat Me Guilt Free order arrived. If you haven’t heard of them, check out their Facebook, website or Instagram page. They have high protein, low carb and low fat treats that range from chocolate brownies to corn bread. They have 22 grams of protein per serving, that’s incredible! I was so impressed that I have a discount code to share! To save 10%, use code Michele. Trust me, these are worth it and don’t taste like you’re indulging.

eat-me

Here is the cornbread I had with my zoodles, shrimp and mushrooms for lunch this weekend!

Don’t forget, you can still save on the Niagara Women’s Half Marathon until 11:59 pm on the 31st with code rollback. 

How were your holidays? Did you stay on track with your fitness and nutrition? What are you looking forward to in the New Year?

XO,

thepinkhatrunner

 

4 thoughts on “Happy Holidays!!

Leave a Reply

