Posted in Uncategorized

Tuesday Ramblings

Good morning! Did everyone have a  long weekend, to commemorate Presidents’ Day? I ended up with four days off and it was so nice and I have to admit, I’m lucky with a compressed work schedule. Being able to add the hours to the other days of the pay period, to have every other Friday off really spoils me, then add in a holiday and I don’t even know what to do with myself!

Over the weekend, my macros challenge group with Mary wrapped up and it was a great 6 weeks. Did the scale move much, nope. Did I lose inches, see changes in my body AND my mind…YES! One of the, if not the biggest take aways from the experience was the lesson I learned in being kinder to myself. I need to be better at talking to myself, as I would a good friend. Why would I beat myself up over half a pound of water gained on the scale, but I would tell my bff that it’s ok? That it doesn’t matter. It’s only water! Feeling stronger, tighter and more toned is a great feeling and being able to walk into the free weight room, confident is huge as well. I’ve really enjoyed my time learning the ropes in there and will continue building muscle!

guns
After 6 weeks of working with Mary, I have guns!

My next weight lifting plan is coming from Jessie Hilgenberg and I’m already on day 2. Yesterday was legs, today was shoulders and boy oh boy, am I feeling it! Jessie also provides a method to calculate your macros, provides cardio, macro/micro nutrient information and a Facebook group that is so incredibly supportive. Seeing so many women, coming together to encourage, uplift and motivate each other is incredible. I am so excited for the next 14 weeks of the Muscle Building One plan and seeing even more changes in my physique.

I find that during the week, when I’m lifting, I’m super focused because I’m on task and need to watch the clock a bit more closely to be at work on time. But on the weekends, when I’m going to spin/kettle bell, it’s so much more social for me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m getting it done, but I have friends to catch up and chat with that I don’t see at 5:30 am during the week.

reply

Speaking of kettle bell and spin, I’ve been taking this awesome spray with me to wipe down the bike and bells! With cold/flu season here, I want to stay as healthy as possible. The spray is meant for yoga mats, but I love it for all gym equipment, it’s made by Danielle Cuccio who formulated it and it’s really a great product

For the first time, an environmentally friendly sanitizing mat cleaner that extends the longevity of your yoga mat and helps create a more balanced and uplifting yoga experience.  Naturally cleans your mat free of bacteria no matter how much you sweat or practice.  Enjoy the refreshing scent of Eucalyptus and Aloe Vera.  

Refresh. Replenish.  Reuse.”

cuccio

Last weekend, I gave myself a small break from strict nutrition, to recharge and get ready to tackle this new workout/nutrition plan. The last few weeks, have been rough for me with the scale (that thing hates me!) and dealing with many unsolicited opinions on what I’m doing.  I kept an eye on my macros, but I had a few bites of dessert on Saturday evening, Sunday I had an amazing omelette at LuLu’s Griddle after a fabulous run with my friend Molly! Sometimes, you just have to let yourself enjoy the moments, Monday was a new day and I’m on track, ready to crush goals and put in some work.

molly
Molly and I ran, chatted and brunched!

The other thing I did over the weekend was try some new to me recipes that are macro friendly! I bought a donut pan and made high protein/gluten free Meyer Lemon donuts. They were so good, but needed a bit more lemon for my taste buds. Next time, I’m going to zest in some of the rind as well. They were fun and there are a lot of great options to experiment with, which I made a Pinterest board to add recipes and ideas to for them. I even have a bagel recipe ready to try out! Friday night, I made a great Ginger Baked Mahi-mahi recipe and had it over zoodles with butternut squash. Veggies and protein, you can’t go wrong with and this recipe for the fish had so much flavor. Do you like to experiment in the kitchen?

 

What have you been up to this week? Anything exciting going on? I have a road trip next month planned and of course my Ragnar Relay in May and the Niagara Falls Womens Half Marathon is the first weekend in June! Have you signed up yet? There is still time and don’t forget to use the code, “NFWHM15” to save $15!

XO,

thepinkhatrunner

Leave a Reply

