Posted in Uncategorized

Lookin’ Good Rest Day!

Happy Friday Eve, everyone!! Today, is actually my Friday, can I get a Hell YEAH  amen?! It’s been a long week, which started last Friday  morning when I went out to my car to find it was broken into. I was on my way out of the house for an o’dark30 run with Sharon, aka, Rungry Runner, to find my driver’s side door was ajar, this is not something I do and it really shook me up. (Side Note: I still met her to run, but we cut it short so that I could come back and call State Farm and the Police Department) Come to find out, after filing a police report and insurance claim, there are fake car openers, that detect the frequency of your alarm, pop the door open and away goes whatever the criminal wants. In my case, it was two gym bags and my piece of mind. Currently, I’m looking into safety measures and really trying to wrap my head around why someone would do this. Feeling secure is so important, being vulnerable and a sense of being unsafe needs to go! So, you can see this last week wasn’t stellar and I am ready for a good weekend. I still got in my workouts, they were my therapy in so many ways and I cut myself some slack. Yesterday, I ran after work, before lifting, to give myself some extra sleep as an example. And guess what today is?! YESSSS!! You’re right, it’s Rest Day, Thursday’s are my new rest day and I am ready.  Both my running and lifting schedules have Thursday off, which is great that they lined up like that. The Universe must like me right now? Or I’m lucky? Let’s go with the Universe is cutting me some slack.

Let’s talk about Rest Days, shall we? Why do we take them? Why are they important? Why you should be embracing rest? Here are some good reasons:

restday

Too many times we get caught up in more is better, less isn’t good mentality, which at the end of the day is going to do more harm than good. If we push ourselves and our bodies, we suffer in performance, mental health and our bodies won’t respond the way we want them to. “Resting is just as important as working out because it’s an equal part of the total process required to build strength, endurance, and muscle. Working out, especially resistance training, breaks your body tissues down. … Rest days allow your muscles, nerves, bones, and connective tissue time to rebuild.”

Addaday recently reached out to me, asking if I’d like to join their team. What an honor to have them notice me and what I’m doing, let alone ask me to be a part of their posse! Of course I said yes, because they offer recovery tools that are so important to making sure my body stays in tip top condition. I’ve used their products at the Treadmill’s Recovery Zone, post group runs and the Big Sur 1/2 marathon. They are good stuff!

“Addaday products are designed as self-massage tools to help people feel better so that they move more. As part of a daily recovery and health maintenance program, it’s now easy to mimic the techniques used by physical therapists and masseurs. Massaging can help speed recovery and eliminate muscle and tendon scarring to relieve soreness and improve performance. The various tools offer a wide variety of massage techniques that may help relieve signs of IT band syndrome, plantar fasciitis, hamstring strains, shin splints, low back tightness and glute pain.”

addaday

You can follow Addaday on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter ! When you do, let them know my pinkhat sent you over to see what they are up to. I’m loving their products now that I have them at home. The stick is amazing on my hamstrings, the Marble Massager is working wonders on my glutes and the roller, well that just plain amazing. They are a trio of recovery bliss, I’m using them on a regular, consistent basis to make sure I take care of myself and my body.

facepull

Last night, after my five mile run and back day in the gym (those are facepulls, I’m about to do in the pic above, which I love doing!) I went home and tried out a couple of recipes. One of the big things I’ve been working on, is getting home earlier, so that I can have a good dinner, relax and unwind before bed. With my schedule, that doesn’t always happen and I’m learning to say no and do this for me. Last night, on the  menu was the Buffalo Blue Cheese Turkey Burger from Skinnytaste. I made a couple of modifications for my macros and to save time.  I used a yogurt based blue cheese dressing from Bolthouse Farms that I already had in the fridge and fat free shredded cheddar as well. Instead of the whole wheat bun, I subbed it with a bun made from cauliflower. It was so good and for the bun seasonings, I used the Everything Bagel Seasoning Blend from Trader Joe’s (this is also really good on egg whites). I prepped the turkey burgers, they hung out while I got the buns together and then grilled them while the cauliflower was doing its thing in the oven. Multi-tasking got a macros friendly dinner on the table in less than 45 minutes and I didn’t feel like I was throwing something on the plate. Small things like this, or washing my tupperware collection during the day at work, are making my evenings so much happier and not feeling as overwhelmed. All of this adds up for a happier and more content me.

burger

If you’re interested in the macro break down this is what it came out to: Protein – 49.2 Carbs – 16.98 and Fat – 5.09.

With the new training plan from Jessie Hilgenberg and today being a rest day, my carbs drop 25%. That comes out to a total of 49 grams less on my plate, but it’s doable and if I’m not training, then I don’t need them. It makes me plan a bit more, add more creativity and prioritize the carbs I will have!

Which reminds me, Lent started this week and I decided to give something up, rather than doing something this year. In year’s past, I’ve tried to make a contribution of myself in some way – volunteering, random act of kindness, etc. This year, I’m giving up Quest and protein bars. I found that they helped satisfy macros, but they were becoming more of an emotional nibble and I can do better! The next 40 days I will be concentrating more on whole foods for my snacks and evening treats. Did I mention how much I like the Blueberry Muffin Quest bar with apricot preserves or the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough with some PB? This is going to be good for me on so many levels!

How do you prioritize yourself? How many rest days do you incorporate into your training and what tools do you use? Leave a comment and let me know!

Have a great week!

XO,

thepinkhatrunner

2 thoughts on “Lookin’ Good Rest Day!

Leave a Reply

